Beginning July 20th, we will kick off the 2020 Virtual SCGIS Conference Series, a sequence of presentations, workshops, and panels on conservation GIS, all available for FREE and spread over a few weeks. Additionally, we will have a few intensive skill workshops for a small fee.

To kick off the series on July 20th, 1PM EDT, we invite everyone, members and non-members alike, to our Welcome and Annual Membership Meeting! We will give an introduction to SCGIS, go over the benefits of membership and give an overview of highlights from the past year. 

Currently we have the first 3 weeks announced, including multiple technical workshops. The workshops are offered for a low cost ($20 each) and have very limited seating, so snag your tickets soon! 

Tues July 21, 2pm EDT – Spatial Analysis with R, Part I

Wed July 22, 12pm EDT – Creating Dashboards from Field Data

Thu July 23, 1pm EDT – Web GIS for Conservation

Fri July 24, 2pm EDT – Spatial Analysis with R, Part II

Mon July 27, 1pm EDT – Spatial Analysis Workflows in ArcGIS Pro

Tues July 28, 2pm EDT – Spatial Analysis with R, Part III

Wed July 29, 1pm EDT – Spatial Analysis with R workshop, Part IV. R-ArcGIS Bridge

Thu July 30, 1pm EDT  – QGIS and Remote Sensing 1 – Intro to Remote Sensing using Open Source Tools

Fri July 31, 1pm EDT – QGIS and Remote Sensing 2 – Advanced Remote Sensing: Land cover change analysis

Talks and Panels:

Registration is also open for many free sessions, including sessions from the DC SCGIS Chapter, The Nature Conservancy, Conservation Remote Sensing Network (CRSNet) and Panel Sessions, with demonstrations and several of our International Chapters being added soon! Visit the Eventbrite page to register, and to check for new sessions to be announced.

Tues July 21, 1pm EDT – Conservation Remote Sensing Network

Thu July 23, 4pm EDT – Identifying Conservation Actions and Resilience in a Changing Climate: Using Geospatial Technology at The Nature Conservancy

Mon Aug 3, 1pm EDT – Career Panel

Tue Aug 4, 4.30p EDT – Update on ArcGIS StoryMaps, and Tips and Tricks for Managing an ArcGIS Online Organization

Wed Aug 5, 4pm EDT – Development and Implementation of the Suspect Rapid Ohi`a Death Trees Management Tracking System

Thu Aug 6, 1pm EDT – DC Chapter

Fri Aug 7, 1pm EDT – Land Trust Panel 

Learn more and register here:

https://scgis.org/cms/article/title/2020-virtual-conference-agenda